Categorized | Google, Scams

Google Adwords SCAM

By Rollins on 10 November 2009

A couple of minutes ago I received an email Titled “Important notice – please cooperate.” The email appeared to be sent from Google, as the name in the FROM field read “Google Adwords <AdWords@google.com>”

For some strange reason though, Thunderbird- my default email client, warned that the message might be a SCAM .

Needless to say that I was completely shocked, because I have never known Google to send SCAM messages. As a matter of fact Google, just like many other leading web companies, frowns on SCAM.

But you see, I have come to develop a lot of confidence in Thunderbird, ever since it saved me from making a terrible mistake some years ago.

Now, the body of the message read;

We detected irregular activity on your Google AdWords Account.

Please use the link below to verify your account immediately:

https://www.google.com/accounts/ServiceLogin?service=adwords


Sincerley, Google AdWords

:

At this point, I was totally confused.  This was the first time I had ever received anything like this from Google. I then decided to investigate the matter, albeit cautiously, so I proceeded to click on the link..

What happened next left me completely and utterly stupefied- clicking on the link took me to the following  URL, and what I saw there shocked the life out of me.

http://www.google-lg.com/accounts/?ServiceLogin?service=adwords&cd=null&hl=EN&ltmpl=adwords&passive=false&ifr=false&alwf=true
&continue=https%3A%2F%2Fadwords.google.com%2Fselect%2Fgaiaauth%3Fapt%
3DNone%26ugl%3Dtrue

The landing page for that URL was so similar to the actual Google page, that it was almost impossible to notice any  discrepancy at first.

:

At this point, as you can imagine, I didn’t know what to think anymore.

Had it not been for the fact that trusty old Thunderbird warned me about the impending doom, I just might have fallen for this SCAM hook, line and sinker.

A closer look at the URL in the address bar revealed all I needed to know about this fraudulent move. Let’s do a very simple comparison;

First of all, the original Google Adwords login URL;

:
Next, the pseudo Google Adwords URL;


:

  1. The first thing you’ll notice is that the domain name “google-lg.com” as seen above is completely different from the “google.com” domain we have all come to be so acquainted with
  2. Secondly, the original Google Adwords login page at http://adwords.google.com/ is built over the Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS)- basically a combination of the Hypertext Transfer Protocol with the SSL/TLS protocol to provide encryption over a secure login interface

:

In a bid to try to determine the source of this SCAM, and be absolutely certain of my assertions; I  went on to do a whois lookup on the pseudo domain. The results only went to allay my fears;

:

Surprise (not so) Surprise! The domain name was actually created this morning

Have you fallen for a similar scam in the past, or maybe you received the same email I did. Share your thoughts below.

:

:

:

Peep on Gatorpeeps 

Share on Facebook | Tweet This | Digg This | Stumble it
Add to Del.icio.us | Email This

12 Responses to “Google Adwords SCAM”

  1. christmas gifts Says:

    This is was remaining till now. People have started doing scams from Google’s name also. Thanks to Thunderbird that it helped you at right time. I am not using any mail security tool accept that came with antivirus program. I think I’ve to check this out immediately.

  2. Rollins Says:

    Thanks for the comment. It might be a good idea to install an email client. I strongly recommend Thunderbird.

  3. Achshar Says:

    ohkzz even i got the very same email the next day u got it. I use windows live mail, it sent tghe email to spam. here have a look..

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/c_yxFqmsCSJhdFNnqFYE9w?authkey=Gv1sRgCLXtxI7b1u_ZOw&feat=directlink

    This was the first suspicious thing… a multi billion dollar company’s email will not go to spam.. will they?
    then second…
    when i pointed to th link it showed something else for the destination as you ca see in the image above. They would never do anything liike this..
    third…
    before i could see what the mater was. my chrome showed me a red page with malwared warning for the sit… now google’s web browser would never ever show a malware warning for its own website. Funny… lol

    I had this email registred only with adwords.. now the question arises where they got my email from did google sell it to them [Which they certainly wont] or they hacked google [Which seems impossible especially for something like adwords]. Email was not on public domain but on my own domain i.e my-email@mysite.com.

  4. Rollins Says:

    Hello Achshar.

    I believe the multiple complaints arising in the minutes following the distribution of the e-mail had something to do with the red pages you saw.

    These guys are relentless. I must give them that. Only this afternoon I got the very same e-mail. This time though the URL points to a new domain;

    http://www.google-vl.com/accounts/signin.html

    As to whether or not Google sold your E-mail to them, I guess we’d leave that to the “almighty” G themselves to answer. But somehow, I really do doubt it.

    Thanks for the comment.

  5. Tony.M.J Says:

    Hi I Too, received the SAME email script today (i.e)Tuesday, November 24, 2009 8:29 PM
    Subject as: Important notice – please cooperate.
    Tuesday, November 24, 2009 8:29 PM
    From: “Google AdWords” Add sender to Contacts
    To: undisclosed-recipients

    “We detected irregular activity on your Google AdWords Account.

    Please use the link below to verify your account immediately:

    https://www.google.com/accounts/ServiceLogin?service=adwords

    Sincerley, Google AdWords”

  6. Rollins Says:

    Hi Tony.

    It just goes to show how far some people are willing to go to make a quick buck. It has come to my notice that most people receiving these mails do NOT even have a Google Adwords account.

    Thanks for sharing.

  7. Achshar Says:

    wellll maybe i was an exception because i atchually use adwords..

  8. Search engine placement specialist Says:

    Nice information, many thanks to the author. It is incomprehensible to me now, but in general, the usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Thanks again and good luck!

  9. Rollins Says:

    Quick update guys!

    I actually received another SCAM mail. You can check it out here-

    http://www.dtechweb-blog.com/2009/12/10/another-google-adwords-scam/

Sites Linking To This Post

  1. Google Adwords SCAM — Affiliates Insider: Showing You The Insides Says:

    [...] the original here: Google Adwords SCAM Share and [...]

  2. AdWords phishing - vigyázat! - JabJab Says:

    [...] hírt megerősíthetik mások [...]

  3. Yet Another Google Adwords SCAM Says:

    [...] what exactly it is I’m “jabbering” about, I take it you never read the previous Google Adwords SCAM [...]

Leave a Reply

Live Updates
First time here? You may want to subscribe to our email alerts to receive a notification when we've added something new.
(We won't spam you. Promise!)



Advertise Here
Advertise Here